Search gallery:

Sacred Valley (12 images)

View: 100 | All
The valley is generally understood to include everything between Calca and Lamay, Písac and Ollantaytambo, it has been formed by the Urubamba River, also known as Vilcanota River or Wilcamayu. The latter means in Quechua, the still spoken lingua franca of the Inca Empire the Sacred river. It is fed by numerous rivers which descend through adjoining valleys and gorges, and contains numerous archaeological remains and villages.

The valley was appreciated by the Incas due to...
more »
View: 100 | All